The little things we do are often the best. It might seem minimal but it’s valuable. Sometimes it’s just the things we say which might not mean much to us but to the receiver, it is of tremendous help.

I remember back in the days when I was much younger fighting with confidence and self esteem. I would wear big clothes to hide my butt because my peers often told me it was too big and I felt embarrassed by it. If there was one thing on my body I wished I could throw away, it was might butt. I was so ashamed of it that I couldn’t stand up in public. I avoided talking to people so that I don’t get noticed or even walk the streets alone because I felt like everyone looking at me was also talking about it.

My mom tried to talk me out of it but I wasn’t convinced because I thought she was just being nice and comforting as a mom should. Until one day in school, when the principal had to appoint a new choir leader and I happened to be the one. She put me in charge of the school  choir. I was forced to stand up in public and conduct a choir of 100 students in public events. It was very difficult for me. But on one occasion of music competition, the host introduced me as “the very beautiful” choir mistress of Our Lady of Lourdes College. This went through my body like a wave of current. Hearing those words changed everything for me. It was like a rebirth and I could feel my heart excited at the words. I suddenly felt very confident and I stood up, waved at the crowd and walked up the stage with confidence as the crowd cheered me. That day, I lead the choir gracefully like never before. I didn’t even know I was that good at it until that very day.This particular day was my most memorable as teenager.

The said host might have considered her words as minimal-maybe  just another good introduction for choir leader. But to me it was more than that. It changed my life.

